History Biography Geography Science Games


List of MLB Teams

Back to Sports
Back to Baseball

Baseball Rules Player Positions Baseball Strategy Baseball Glossary

How many players are on an MLB team?

There are two rosters for an MLB team, a 25-man roster and a 40-man roster. The main team that plays and goes to games is the 25-man roster. The 40-man roster is made up of the 25-man roster plus additional players that are on a major league contract. They may be minor league players or players on injured reserve. Players on the 40-man roster can be "called up" to play on the 25-man roster. Also, after September 1st, the 40-man roster becomes like the 25-man roster and any of the 40 players can play.

How many MLB teams are there?

There are 30 MLB teams. They are divided up evenly between the American League and National League. The American League has 15 teams and the National League has 15 teams. Each of the leagues is divided into three divisions called the East, the Central, and the West.

National League


Central West
American League

East Central West Fun Facts about MLB Teams
More Baseball Links:
Baseball Rules
Player Positions
Baseball Strategy
Baseball Glossary
MLB (Major League Baseball)
List of MLB Teams

Baseball Biographies:
Derek Jeter
Tim Lincecum
Joe Mauer
Albert Pujols
Jackie Robinson
Babe Ruth

Ducksters Footer Gif with Ducks

About Ducksters Privacy Policy 


This site is a product of TSI (Technological Solutions, Inc.), Copyright 2024, All Rights Reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use.